Archive for February 9th, 2012

February 9, 2012

Kelp Noodles & Happy Dance

I’ve always wanted to try kelp noodles, and today was the day! ๐Ÿ™‚ But the happy dance wasn’t for the kelp noodles, it was for getting the co-op position I really really really really really wantedย this summer! I should say: Happy dances*.. since it happened for than once.

So Zhers sells this wonderful thing called… Artisan Lettuce. I decided to try the kelp noodles in a salad.. because not gonna lie.. they’re pretty expensive, and so mixing them in a salad will make them last longer ๐Ÿ™‚

After I cooked the noodles, I realized that they tasted like.. nothing! So I mixed them with some dressing.

I’m not a big fan of onions, but there’s just something so visually appealing about onions in a salad, that I had to add them.

Tags: , ,
February 9, 2012

Trial & Error

Trial and error has finally led me to this blog-worthy carrot cake muffin recipe. I think it’s my slight obsession with things that remind me of fall, that made me add cinnamon, nutmeg, and allspice. It’s sort of a hybrid recipe.. a combination of pumpkin-spice scones and carrot cake.

Ingredients:

1 1/2 cups whole wheat flour
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
1/2 tsp ground allspice
1/4 tsp nutmeg, freshly grated
1/4 tsp salt
1 1/4 cups brown sugar
2 large eggs
1/4 cup butter, melted and cooled
1/4 cup orange juice (pref. freshly squeezed)
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
1 1/2 cups shredded carrot

I could write up a fancy paragraph on the directions, but basically mix together the flour, baking soda, spices and salt. Then beat the eggs and sugar, and then add the butter, orange juice, and vanilla extract. Stir in the flour mixture, add the shredded carrots, and pour into the muffin tray! ๐Ÿ™‚ Bake for about 20 mins, and let em’ cool!

It was gone almost as quick as it was made!

I only got to eat 1 (I’ve got some hungry family members! ๐Ÿ™‚ ) but this just means it was a success! yayy!! I’m actually thinking about making some for my group meeting on Saturday.. as part of my contribution to the assignment ๐Ÿ˜‰